Install failed on 'postfix'

Home Forums ADS-B Receiver Project Support Install failed on 'postfix'

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  joe 1 week, 5 days ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Terry
    Participant

I’ve been running the ADS-B Receiver satisfactorily for a couple of years, however I’ve just tried a fresh install on another Pi, using the v2.6.1 image and following the instructions and menus, (including updating Stretch to the latest), but the routine failed on trying to install ‘postfix’ and bombed-out with the following message:

Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    Package postfix is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source
    E: Package 'postfix' has no installation candidate
      INSTALLATION HALTED!
      UNABLE TO INSTALL A REQUIRED PACKAGE.
      SETUP HAS BEEN TERMINATED!
    The package "postfix" could not be installed in 5 attempts.
        IMAGE SETUP HAS BEEN TERMINISTED.

I re-ran the ADS_B Receiver routine using ./install.sh, but with the same failure on installing postfix, however I was subsequently able to install postfix separately, using ‘sudo apt-get install postfix -y’ and then the ADS-B Receiver install routine completed successfully.

Questions:
    1. Why does the ADS-B Reciver routine fail on installing postfix, where a manual install of postfix succeeds? 2. Is ‘postfix’ really required or could it be made optional? (AFAIK, I have no need of it)

Otherwise, many thanks for all the great work on this project 🙂

Terry

orion_jb2001
    Participant